© 2023 WRVO Public Media
Your Source for NPR News
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

WRVO news honored by NYS, Syracuse press associations

Herm Card
Syracuse Press Club
Lorraine Rapp, co-host of "Take Care," and reporter Ellen Abbott (left to right).

WRVO Public Media has once again been recognized for excellence in journalism and public affairs content. This spring, the WRVO News team received awards from both the Syracuse Press Club (SPC) and New York State Associated Press Association (NYSAPA).

The SPC announced the following winners among those submitted by WRVO:

For Best News Feature, Ellen Abbott's piece "Farmers try to find ways to deal with more severe weather" received top honors.

The "Campbell Conversations," our weekly public affairs program hosted by Grant Reeher, received first place in the Special Program category for "Katko, Deacon hold first debate for 24th Congressional District." Congratulations to Grant, as well as to producers Jason Smith and Catherine Loper for that honor.

Our health program "Take Care" also received honors for their program highlighting the reversal on a decades long recommendation to floss regularly and how simple diet changes can improve blood pressure (also in the Special Program category). Co-hosts Linda Lowen and Lorraine Rapp, and producers Catherine Loper and Leah Landry were awarded that honor.

And on the state level, the NYSAPA awarded WRVO the following:

Payne Horning was recognized for Continuing Coverage on the fate of Fitzpatrick Nuclear Power Plant, and Ellen Abbott received another award for her story covering farmers and severe weather.

The Katko and Deacon debate took home first place, once again, in the Public Service category, thanks to host Grant Reeher and producers Jason Smith and Catherine Loper.

Mark Lavonier received the first place award for Best Use of Sound with his piece "Volunteers give back to disabled veterans by offering a ride."

And finally, our website and related social media channels were ranked among the top three stations for Best Digital Presence.