© 2024 WRVO Public Media
NPR News for Central New York
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

WRVO takes home multiple Syracuse Press Club awards in 2016

Jon Zella
From left to right: Payne Horning, Leah Landry and Tom Magnarelli.

The WRVO News and programming teams took home multiple awards at the 38th Annual Syracuse Press Club Awards and Scholarship Dinner on April 30, 2016, for work completed in 2015.

Nearly 180 people attended the awards ceremony, which honors journalists, photographers and others in the fields of radio, television, and digital content -- both professionals and students.

Winners in Radio | Work completed in 2015

Spot news

First place: WRVO-FM, Ellen Abbott, “State Fair visit gets personal for Gov. Andrew Cuomo

Second place: WAER-FM, John Smith, “Teachers send Governor Cuomo a message at the State Fair”

News Feature

First place: WRVO-FM, Julia Botero, “Military and veteran suicide

Second place: WAER-FM, Scott Willis, “Lake cleanup also means habitat restoration”

Investigative Story

First place: WRVO-FM, Julia Botero, “To call or not to call: New Canadian border rules confuse boaters on the St. Lawrence

Second place: WRVO-FM, Ryan Delaney, “Inaccessible housing

"Human Interest" Feature

First place: WRVO-FM, Mark Lavonier, “Michelle Dorrance: Tapping is music

Second place: WAER-FM, Chris Bolt, “Tubman was here: New York school children creating art and learning history”

Sports Story

First place: WRVO-FM, Julia Botero, “It took almost 20 years, but pro baseball returns to Watertown

Second place: WAER-FM, Andrew Scaglione, “End of Archbold Stadium”

Sports Show

First place: WAER-FM, Sam Hyman, Jonny Wincott, J.P. Chunga, “Countdown to Kickoff: Syracuse University v. LSU"

Second place: None selected.

Special Program

First place: WRVO-FM, Grant Reeher and Jason Smith, “Campbell Conversations: Joanne Shenandoah”

Second place: WAER-FM, Chris Bolt, “Bringing the Paris Climate Talks home”

You can read more about the entire awards dinner, including the inaugural Bill Carey Journalist of the Year Award, on the Syracuse Press Club Facebook page.